Last year the California Legislature approved new law on booster seats which will affect drivers and passengers in 2012, according to the Automobile Club of Southern California.
Starting Jan. 1, young passengers ages six and seven will be required to ride in a booster seat in any vehicle, unless they are at least 4-feet-9-inches tall. Previously, only child passengers who were up to age six or weighing less than 60 pounds were required to ride in a car seat or booster seat. The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) now recommends that all children who've
outgrown their car seat continue to
ride in a booster seat until they're at least 8 years old and 4 feet 9 inches tall.
“Traffic safety research shows that children aged four to seven are 59 percent less likely to be injured in a vehicle crash if they are in a car seat or booster seat than if they are wearing a seat belt,” said Alice Bisno, the Auto Club’s senior vice president for public affairs. “Adult-size seat belts do not properly protect young children because they don’t fit them correctly."
As with the previous child seat law, the fine for a first offense is $100 and $250 for a second offense not including court assessment costs. The bottomline cost of the ticket will be $446 for a first offense or over $1,000 for a second offense.
Certified technicians (usually CHP) are available to check your car seat installation for free. Check the NHTSA website to find your nearest inspection station. Call us at Berglund and Johnson at 1-800-4-IF-HURT (1-800-443-4878) to discuss your personal injury matter.
Have a safe, blessed and prosperous 2012! "Because you have made the LORD, who is my refuge, Even the Most High, your dwelling place, No evil shall befall you, Nor shall any plague come near your dwelling; For He shall give His angels charge over you." (Psalm 91:9-11, NKJV)